## **MEDIA RELEASE**

11th January 2016

# **Brockie Leaves Rivals Trembling**

#### By Ellen Dwyer GBOTA Business Development Manager

Anthony Azzopardi has formed a formidable team, headed by Zambora Brockie, heading in to next Saturday night's Group Race Finals at Wentworth Park.

Zambora Brockie, the 2015 Ladbrokes Vic Peters Classic winner, recorded fastest of the night figures, stopping the clock at an impressive 29.60, leading all the way after exiting box one in the fifth heat of the Group 1, Ladbrokes Paws of Thunder.

Azzopardi opened his account in the first heat on the night, with Asa Flying Spur upsetting more favoured runners such as Melbourne Cup winner, Dyna Double One. Asa Flying Spur went and stride

for stride battle with Magic Spring, winning by just over length in the end.

Azzopardi also had Group 1 Sale
Cup winner No Doputs feature on

Azzopardi also had Group 1 Sale Cup winner, No Donuts feature on Saturday's (January 9) racing, winning the first heat of the Group 2 Summer Distance Plate. The victory by the new comer to the Londonderry kennels was impressive clocking 42.42. The tightly contested event saw No Donuts challenged by Ryno's Raider and Whittaker on the line.

Victorian trainer, Andrea Dailly, also qualified two finalists for the \$75,000 to the winner, Ladbrokes Paws of Thunder final, with Helga Bale winning by just a nose over Good



Odds Ocker, while Elfen Bale beat home Chevy Prince in the third heat.

The Group 1 final has also drawn a host of NSW runners, with Smart Missile (29.89), Nangar Flame (29.77) and Paloma Lago (30.17) all winning their respective heats.

Robert Britton topped a good night at Cranbourne, with Tap Out Rose winning heat six in 29.96, in a huge thrill for connections.

Two heats of the Group 2 Summer Distance Plate supported the Ladbrokes Paws of Thunder, with No Donuts, taking heat one, while Sky Book for Kristy Sultana won the second heat. Both events drew together a host of quality runners, with Sky Book beating home Wild Fire, Smooth Number and Phantom Reign in 42.75.

#### GROUP ONE - Ladbrokes Paws Of Thunder \$100,000 to the winner.

#### Box Draw and local Fixed Market for the Ladbrokes Paws of Thunder:

\$100,000 to the winner Group 1 Ladbrokes Paw of Thunder 520m						
Вох	Greyhound	Trainer	Price	B/T		
	Nangar Flame	Dennis Barnes	<i>\$5</i>	29.77		
2	Tap Out Rose	Robert Britton	\$11	29.96		
3	Asa Flying Spur	Andrew Winter	\$21	29.89		
4	Smart Missile	Jason Mackay	\$6	29.43		
5	Paloma Lago	Ronald Bell	\$35	29.77		
6	Zambora Brockie	Anthony Azzopardi	\$1.90	29.56		
7	Elfen Bale	Andrea Dailly	\$6.50	29.80		
8	Helga Bale	Andrea Dailly	\$35	30.15		
19/2	Pedro Cerrano (RES)	John Little	\$9	30.01		
10	Explosive Range (RES)	Daniel Flanagan	\$35	30.18		

Local expert's selections for the Ladbrokes Paws of Thunder final are as follows.

<u>Adam Dobbin</u>	<u>Ron Arnold</u>	Gerard Guthrie	<u>Tim Newbold</u>
1 <sup>st</sup> Zambora Brockie	1 <sup>st</sup> Smart Missile	1 <sup>st</sup> Zambora Brockie	1 <sup>st</sup> Zambora Brockie
2 <sup>nd</sup> Nangar Flame	2 <sup>nd</sup> Zambora Brockie	e 2 <sup>nd</sup> Nangar Flame	2 <sup>nd</sup> Nangar Flame
3 <sup>rd</sup> Tap Out Rose	3 <sup>rd</sup> Tap Out Rose	3 <sup>rd</sup> Tap Out Rose	3 <sup>rd</sup> Elfen Bale

### What's happening on race night?

Gates open at 5.30pm for Saturday's meeting.

Also on the card are the derby & Futurity preludes for Pups whelped on or after 1/7/2013 with only 1-3 wins. The Group 2 Summer Plate final over the 720 metres will be decided.

It is the perfect reason to get trackside and witness two great feature finals.

The 2016 'Collerson' conducted in recognition of Daily Telegraph Journalist Jeff Collerson's contribution to the Greyhound Industry is also a great race on the card this Saturday night.

Plus plenty of entertainment for Kids with Jumping Castle.



#### Catering & Bar

Wentworth Park provides diverse choices within the venue. There is the snack bar on the ground floor and there are take away stalls on the concourse leading from the grandstand. There are fully licensed bars on the ground floor. The Bistro on the lower ground floor provides patrons the opportunity to order from an extensive menu, with meals cooked to order, and delivered to your table, with Bar facilities in the Bistro.

Listed below are the past winners of Paws Of Thunder which was formerly known as the St.Leger and first run in 1957. The NSW NCA restructured the prizemoney and the race name in 2001.

1957 Idle Sign, 1958 Ebony Minda, 1959 Super Samson, 1960 Constant Raider, 1961 Elsie Moss, 1962 Black Top, 1963 Miss Warcroft, 1964 Revival King, 1965 Daily Tide, 1966 Sunset Fire, 1967 Another Glitter, 1968 Zoom Top, 1969 Beau Brin, 1970 Size Seven, 1971 Romantic Top, 1972 Likely Light, 1973 Trella Light, 1974 Busy's Chief, 1975 Mighty Aussie, 1976 Palaver, 1977 Fine Arama, 1978 Oberon Lily, 1979 Lord Raleigh, 1980 Glider's Son, 1981 Promises Free, 1982 Winifred Bale, 1983 Winston Lass, 1984 Beach Rhythm 1985 Another Flash, 1986 Memories Gate, 1987 See Yah, 1988 Grizzly Bear, 1989 Jessica Kate, 1990 Dixie Lass, 1991 Little Denver, 1992 lago, 1993 Leon Mal, 1994 Zazziam, 1995 Nine Inch Nails, 1996 Tamborine Dancer, 1997 Elle's Commando, 1998 Waiwera Marika, 1999 Stately Bird, 2000 Some Secret, 2001 Suellen Bale, 2002 Modern Assassin, 2003 Winsome Shot, 2004 Kobble Rock 2005 Pure Octane 2006 Suave Fella, 2007 Leprechaun Pace, 2008 One Tree Hill, 2009 Cindeen Shelby, 2010 Lochinvar Marlow, 2011 Fancy Will and 2013 Sheikha, 2014 Iona Seven and 2015 Dyna Villa.



1968 Winner the mighty Zoom Top

For any further information contact NSW GBOTA Ellen Dwyer: (02) 8587 1210.

For more information please contact:

Neil Brown AGRA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234

Mob: 0423 129 950 nbrown@agra.com.au Howard Ashton AGRA Executive Officer

Tel: 08 8243 7100 Mob: 0438 042 838